The Cycle of Weight Loss & Gain: My Journey

and the New Hope of GLP-1

Shanna | GYST Assisting LLC
5 min readMar 21, 2024
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

“Calories in, calories out. It’s that simple”

“You have to lift weights. Muscle burns more fat”

“Go hard or go home”

“Don’t limit any foods, eat what you want”

“You’re just lazy”

“You can always find time to exercise”

“Avoid ____, eat____”

“Mediterranean Diet is best”

“Embrace your curviness

“Just try harder”

“Eat less, move more, starve, binge eat, repeat

“Keto is best”

“If I can do it, you can”

“Diet culture is toxic, embrace where your body is at”

“If it’s not working, you’re doing it wrong”

“Meal plan, that will help”

And on, and on, and on, and on.

The Cycle of Success and Struggle

Ever since puberty found me, I have struggled with my weight. Partially due to the unhealthy yo-yo dieting and eating habits I learned from my mom (that’s a whole other article or two or three), part of it from past trauma, and partially due to what I now know as my…

--

--

Shanna | GYST Assisting LLC

Business Systems & Strategies | OBM | Virtual Assistant ➡️ I will help your Get Your Systems Sh*t Together 🌟 Let's ADHD Together www.gystassist.com/links